Corpus Christi Mom Gets 5 years Probation for Spanking Her Child!

27 Jun

Rosalina Gonzales, a mom from Corpus Christi, Texas was sentenced to 5 years probation and had her children taken away from her for spanking her child.

judge longoria

Judge Jose Longoria told Rosalina; “You don’t spank children today…”
Ms. Gonzales, plead guilty to spanking her daughter with an open hand, leaving visible bruises.
The Grandmother, noticed the bruises and did what any other Latina Abuelita would do – She reported her daughter to the police! My grandmother once called the police to report me for illegal cable, but that’s another story.

Judge Longoria went on to say, “In the old days, maybe we got spanked, but there was a different quarrel. You don’t spank children.”

With your permission Judge Jose Longoria, I’d like to address the old days.

In the old days, we didn’t get spanked with an open hand to the buttocks.
I laugh at such a thought. Are you kidding me?
If I may approach the bench, I’d like to present Exhibit A –

LA CORREA!

The belt, brought more fear to our home than El Cucuy and El Chupacabras put together.

The belt, Judge Longoria, was how we were disciplined.
On a bad day, which was every day, my father would grab me by the hand, and round and round I’d go, like a horse on a Carousel. I’d hear my father scream, cono, carajo, pendejo!!! Toma, Toma, Toma!!!
I felt like a horse jockey was whipping my ass!
My grandmother was there to witness this. However, she chose not to call the police and report my father! Why?

Grandma wasn’t stupid!  She knew if she did, she was next!

As a Latino, I have to ask this question –

How far will the courts go?

Will laws one day prohibit Latinos from disciplining their children with;

I present to you Exhibit B

LA CHANCLA!

Laws that prevent spankings is like stealing a deeply embedded cultural belief!

Can government intervene, and take away our Chanclas?

Nooooooooooo!!!!

Until we get answers, talk to your children or face jail time!

In the meantime, I’d love to know your thoughts.

5 Responses to “Corpus Christi Mom Gets 5 years Probation for Spanking Her Child!”

  1. Steve McMex June 27, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    I feel for this lady. I think that if this lady had a good attorney she would not be in the situation that she is in. I also think this ruling is more than likely unconstitutional and with proper representation it would be overturned.

    -McMex

    • mikerobles June 27, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

      I agree, Steve.
      I’m not a lawyer, but I believe that this decision should be challenged.
      Big brother, may have crossed the line.

  2. Maria Salazar June 27, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    Mike per my husband that is why this world is fucked up! Because you have Judges like Longoria that make stupid decisions like that! So what is he going do, put every other Latino parent on probation in Corpus Christi & confiscate their correas & chanclas? Longoria is such an idiot. If he denies parents to spank their kids, these same kids will be in front of him in the future for committing harsh offenses. When he handed down the decision. That mom should have told Judge Longoria, you can have these kids I don’t want them because they now know, they can get away with whatever they want!

    • mikerobles June 27, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

      Maria, you make an excellent point!
      I don’t believe Big Brother should get involved.
      It’s a double edge sword.
      On the one hand, you want to protect the child on the other hand,
      who’s responsible for the child at the end of the day,
      Parents of a Judge?
      Thanks for your insights.

  3. MARIO GONZALEZ June 28, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    IF MY PARENTS WOULD HAVE BEEN TAKEN TO COURT,THEY PROBABLY WOULD BE DOING LIFE IN PRISON, BUT IF IT WASN’T FOR THAT KIND OF DISIPLINE, ME AND MY 7 BROTHERS AND 4 SISTERS WOULD DEFENETLY BE DOING LIFE IN PRISON……

Leave a Reply

